The birthplace of the Avoca experience and the origin of the name this is a famous tourist destination and a favourite amongst locals for its clothing, soft goods, gifts, and food. There's a free Visitor Centre which tells the story since 1723.
Built on the banks of the Avoca River from where it used to draw its power, you'll find a large Avoca Store and Café, and a working hand weaving mill. The Avoca Mill itself dates from 1723, and is said to be Ireland’s oldest working mill, and indeed one of the world’s oldest.
The Avoca throws, rugs and scarves you will find at Avoca’s 12 locations around Ireland and shipped all over the world are all woven in the original mill. Initially it took the raw wool from the sheep of the surrounding hills and valleys and through a process of carding, spinning, dyeing and weaving transformed it into clothing and blankets for barter and sale. Visitors are welcome to view the whole weaving process at first hand with a Tour of the Mill. Admission is free and it is a great opportunity to see the weavers at work and to view the finished product in the store afterwards.
The original whitewashed buildings of the old mill now house the store which carries an extensive selection of Avoca favourites - clothing, soft furnishing, gifts, food and much more. And of course, a cafe too, which is famous for its delicious lunches and home baking. The picturesque village of Avoca itself was the fictional home of BBC TV's Ballykissangel. Overall, the warm and friendly atmosphere in this charming and historical location makes the visit to Avoca a wonderful experience.
An Irish-run business, Avoca spans one of the world's oldest surviving manufacturing companies and Ireland's most exciting stores and popular cafés. Avoca stores and cafes are based at many other spectacular locations, including Kilmacanogue, Malahide Castle, Powerscourt House & Gardens, and Moll’s Gap on the Ring of Kerry, boasting truly spectacular views. Visit the website to explore stores and for additional information........
The Store Opening Times: 10am - until 5.30pm in winter and 6pm in summer.....
Tours Times from 10am - 4pm daily While the last tour can commence from approx. 4pm due to the mill closing at 4.30pm. The café remains open until 5pm.