Waterford Treasures comprises three Museums each set in historic buildings all of which are located within minutes walk of each other in Waterford's historic city centre in an area known as the Viking Triangle.
The three Museums tell the story of Waterford Ireland's oldest city founded by the Vikings in 914. The story of the city starts at Reginald's Tower a 12th century mural tower where the Viking museum is located. The exhibits include a set of Viking warrior armour dating to the 9th century.
A two minute walk for the Tower is Ireland's only Medieval Museum a stunning modern building that incorporates a 13th century Choristers' Hall and a 15th century wine vault. Among the great treasures of international importance on display is the 4 metre long Great Charter Roll dated to 1373 and the 15th century cloth of gold vestments the only set to survive in Northern Europe. Re-enactors guide visitors through this remarkable collection of historic and architectural treasures.
Within a few metres of the medieval museum is the Bishop's Palace Museum built in 1743 it is here that the story of Waterford from 1700 to the 1970s is told by re-enactors against a backdrop of rare 18th century Irish furniture , glass silver and paintings. The largest collection of historic Waterford Glass in the world is on display and the oldest landscape view of an Irish city William Van der Hagens view of Waterford 1736.
Both the Medieval Museum and the Palace are wheelchair accessible, the Palace has a wonderful restaurant and all the attractions are less than three minutes’ walk from the world famous House of Waterford Crystal factory and showrooms.