Fitzgerald Park is the original site of the 1902 International Exhibition held in Cork and named after Lord Mayor, Edward Fitzgerald. Located on the banks of the River Lee, the park on Mardyke Walk is a short stroll away from the Cork Public Museum.
Generations of Cork citizens and visitors have enjoyed the tranquil atmosphere of Fitzgerald Park, people have strolled through the park.
The park is named after Edward Fitzgerald, the city's Lord Mayor and Exhibition Committee chairman who was instrumental in organising Cork's International Exhibition. The legacy of this 'world trade fair' is this oasis on the outskirts of Cork city which still features the original pavilion and ornamental fountain from the Exhibition era.
The gardens play host to Cork Museum, Riverview Café, sculptures, a waterlily-bedecked pond, a variety of sculptures and even a skate park. Daly's Bridge, built in 1926, connects Sundays Well Road with these charming formal gardens. This pedestrian bridge is made from timber planks and is known locally as the 'Shakey Bridge' which spans the river Lee, the habitat of many graceful swans.
Boat slips, or berths, along the river bank are an evocative reminder of when residents went punting on the river.